Patient Testimonials

Texas Orthopaedic & Sports Medicine has been serving the north Houston market since 1975. Over the years we've had the opportunity to serve many patients and their families.

With over 40 years of care in our community, we are collecting stories from patients that we have had the opportunity to serve. We take pride in our patients and would love to hear from you! If you were a patient at TOSM and would like to share your story with us, please click below.

Sherolyn C.

Dr. Husam Bahrani is my physician and also treated my mother. All I can say is that he is an excellent orthopedic physician and has handled all our sports injuries for years. He is incredible at diagnostics. There is only one #1 and that is Dr. Bahrani.

June 12, 2018

Karmina S.

Back in April I went to see Dr. Fahl and my solution was surgery to the right knee for a tear to the meniscus. I’m not going to lie I was a little scared, but I went ahead and had surgery. Dr. Fahl took the time to explain all what he would be doing. He also gave me directions on what to do at home. Oh and let me say that Dr. Fahl himself called me the evening of my surgery to see how I was doing. That there speaks highly of the care he has for his patients. I’m super glad that he is my Dr. The entire staff at Texas Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine are great and super helpful.

June 4, 2018

Sharon R.

Dr. Leahy is an amazing and gifted Dr. He has given my daughter, my husband, and I so much pain relief. He is talented and has amazing hands in surgery. He has a soft manner and is a very nice person. He puts no pressure on you. He's straight forward in his diagnosis and suggested treatment. He gives you every option to avoid surgery. He has a pleasant atmosphere in his office. Very nice staff and is willing to help you. His office is professional and friendly at the same time. They are an amazing group of Dr.'s in that practice. They can fix any part of your body with the same kindness and professionalism.

Dr. Smith fixed my trigger finger that had hurt for over 20 years; other Dr.'s told me there was nothing they could do. Dr. Smith has the same amazing hands. He's very nice and open to any option that he thinks is appropriate. He put shots in my trigger finger for 6 months. He then said in good conscience it would be too dangerous to continue to do that. The surgery was successful. I can now move that finger.

I'm now seeing Dr. Hammit for my knee and my ankle. He has shown the same professional manner as Dr. Leahy and Dr. Smith. He's doing the shot treatment now. He also fit me for an ankle brace that has helped a considerable amount. I have a 12 year old severe break in my ankle and leg. I've had 2 previous surgeries. The original Dr. says it all still looks good. Dr. Hammit sees a break in the bone fusion.

They all three have excellent PA's. Their nurses are amazing; they get the tests scheduled and done. The business office knows their coding and gets the bills paid. They are all amazing and work together as an amazing family full of love.

I know I'm a hot mess, but I truly have all these problems. I feel that I have found the best Dr.'s in Houston. There are many Dr.'s in Houston that are very qualified to help you, however, these are the most special Dr.'s I've ever met in my 45 years in Houston. Definitely give these guys a chance.

June 3, 2018

Peggy H.

Dr. Michael Leahy, and his asst. John McMonigle, did an L 4-5 Transforaminal Lumbar, Interbody Fusion on me a week and two days ago. I can't believe how great I feel. I just can't say thank you enough. I can't leave out the great little nurse (Tia) Dr. Leahy has -she is the tops. I would recommend them to anybody.

June 1, 2018

Diann A.

Met Dr. Leahy today and could not admire him more. Honest and straightforward as to what I needed and what I can expect and gave me an alternative treatment if I chose not to have surgery. He surpassed our expectations. The staff was outstanding, friendly, courteous and most helpful. Very professional and frankly just "nice". Thank you.

May 24, 2018

Amy H.

I highly recommend Dr Mathis with Texas Orthopaedic & Sports Medicine!

Dr Mathis took the time to listen attentively to the issues I was having with my knee. He completely explained the tests I would be having to determine the best course of action. Then, he thoroughly explained the test results and my options. The day of my knee surgery Dr Mathis once again explained what I could expect during, and after the procedure as well as my expected recovery.

At my post surgery office visit, Dr Mathis reviewed what had been done, reviewed the procedure photos to be sure I understood, checked on my pain levels, set up expectations for my continued recovery and even set up strategies to minimize the potential of a re-occurrence of the problem. Dr Mathis' thoroughness, professionalism, ease, compassion, and obvious expertise put me at ease! He simply took as much time as I needed.

Dawn, Dr Mathis' nurse/medical associate, is a top notch professional. She was unwavering as she successfully navigated through my insurance. Dawn was professional, friendly, and even made me laugh at one point. (Not easy to do with a patient who is in pain and dealing with insurance.)

Dr Mathis, Dawn and all of his staff were very friendly, caring and provided me with an exceptional experience. Thank you Dr. Mathis and your entire team!

May 21, 2018

Beverly H.

I had triple fusion on my cervical spine (C4 thru C4) with 2 disc replacements on March 27, 2018, by Dr. Michael Leahy, at Lakeside Hospital in The Woodlands. The entire staff - Dr. Leahy, John, and Tia, as well as everyone at the hospital have been so professional, caring, patient, and compassionate throughout the entire process.

Today, 5-1/2 weeks post-surgery, I feel so good! I have gotten back to a modified exercise program and it has been amazing to have NO neck pain! I had no idea how much pain I was having and just accepting as 'normal' until now that I have none. I had tried all the options before I decided to move forward with the surgery, including steroid shots and physical therapy. Even, after exhausting those options, I still waited on surgery. That is the one thing I regret about the process. I think of the months that I experienced excruciating and sometimes debilitating neck and shoulder pain and associated headaches and realize now that I did not have to live with the pain! Dr. Leahy and surgery were the right answers for me and I will forever be grateful to be able to move on with my life pain free!

You will find Dr. Leahy, as well as John McMonigle, to be extremely kind and patient in listening to your concerns, answering your questions, and going that extra step in making sure you understand the procedures and what to expect. They are not 'pro-surgery' unless they really feel you need it and you will never feel pushed into something you are not comfortable in doing.

Dr. Leahy and his staff are an amazing team and I high recommend them to anyone experiencing neck or spine pain.

May 4, 2018

Matt S.

Dr. Barkoh fixed the disk pressing on my nerve causing shooting pain down my left leg.

Dr. Barkhoh takes ALL the time you need with office visits... never rushes you.

Dr. Barkoh answers all questions thoroughly.

His Medical Assistant Courtney is top notch and returns phone calls and provides answers without delay.

The entire staff at his office is fantastic!

Dr. Barkoh worked with my insurance company.

Dr. Barkoh keeps his word.

Dr. Barkoh was absolutely transparent with the diagnosis , surgery and risks.

Dr. Barkoh is someone that all doctors should aspire to be.

May 1, 2018

Yvonne S.

I saw Dr. Barkoh to help with pain I was having in my lower back going into my leg. After meeting with Dr. Barkoh I immediately knew he was the surgeon I wanted. He was very reassuring and professional when reviewing my test results and made me have the upmost confidence in his abilities.

April 28, 2018

andrew.jpg

Andrew M.

I want to thank Doctor Barkoh for for the excellent job he did on my neck fusion. I was looking at a bleak future for myself. At my age with more than half my life behind me, I realized that with all this pain that my dreams were passing me by, and there was no chance of catching up. After going through all available options, I met with Dr Barkoh and he asked me what I wanted to do about it. I said surgery.

6 weeks after surgery, I'm healing up and feeling much better. I can now play with my new granddaughter, and I have started flying my radio-controlled airplanes again, I gave that up for a year from the depression associated with the pain. Communication was great through the process of getting things lined up for surgery. Thanks for giving me my life back, Doctor Barkoh.

April 27, 2018

Janice T.

Absolutely the best group of orthopedics in the greater Houston and surrounding areas. They have treated me for several orthopedic issues and treated another family member for a broken ankle.

The doctors and their staff far exceed expectations! This group of professionals is always my first recommendation to anyone needing orthopedic treatment.

April 24, 2018

James J.

I suffered with extreme neck pain for over a year with numbness, tingling and burning sensation in my arms and hands and tried several non-invasive treatments none of which gave me prolonged relief.

After interviewing two other spinal surgeons I was referred to Dr. Leahy and immediately knew he was the surgeon I wanted to use. Professional, not over confident but very reassuring. He performed the procedure to implant two artificial disks in my cervical spine on Friday, and Tuesday morning I was back at work and pain free!

Thank you Dr. Leahy and all of your staff for a great experience and outcome!

April 16, 2018

Susan L.

After suffering years of back pain, I finally decided enough was enough. I had a very nice experience having a hip replacement with Texas Orthopaedic (Dr. Mathis) and had heard good things about Dr. Michael Leahy.

My L4/L5 spinal fusion was done on November 30, 2017 and today, March 12, 2018 I can truly say I am totally pain free! Dr. Leahy did a great job on my back. Prior to the surgery, in regular appointments he was patient, answered questions and I never felt rushed. After the surgery he even went so far as to email me on a Sunday to put my mind at ease about draining at the incision.

The wait time for appointments can sometimes be long but he is worth it. As I was told by someone in the medical field "Dr. Leahy is who the other physicians go to for back problems." I highly recommend Dr. Leahy if you are having back issues.

March 12, 2018

Steven T.

I would like to thank all of the staff for their help in my recovery. I have had pain in my knees for 10 years and after the surgery and rehab I now can say I am totally pain free. Thank you once again for your excellent care.

March 5, 2018

bills_tomato_patch_2010_5x7_ver_lr_deb_photo.jpg

William A.

Dr. Barkoh was recommended by my primary physician and I feel very fortunate to have been in Dr. Barkoh's care.

My minimally invasive spine surgery on 2/12/18 was as close to a miracle as I have experienced in 71 years! In the recovery room as my anesthesia began to wear off, I realized the pain, numbness and tingling sensations were gone - not lessened - gone. Before long they wheeled me out to the parking lot where my wife was waiting with the car. I climbed in (attendants were there to help, of course), we drove to her sister's house in Houston, spent the night and my wife drove us home the next morning. I had the option to spend the night in the hospital but I was ready to get on with life!

Medical issues have been minimal - slight pain (really more soreness), my first bm after surgery, etc. After almost three weeks I mostly worry about trying to do too much. After all, I've got a garden to plant!

March 2, 2018

Lucrecia S.

I can’t say enough great things about Dr. Mathis and his staff! I’m 54 and was unable to do normal day to day living because of the massive pain in my hip. Dr. Mathis was very understanding and actually cared about me as a person and improving the quality of living pain free. He made my husband and I feel at ease with the hip replacement surgery. Very informative with everything that was going to happen step by step. The surgical staff at Tomball Medical Center was very helpful and understanding also. My surgery was January 2017 it has been a little over a year and I’m living pain free and enjoying life Thanks to Dr. Mathis.

February 21, 2018

Michael T.

I have been knowing Dr. Fahl for years. He has performed a couple knee surgeries and a couple shoulder surgeries on my two boys while playing football and basketball during their middle and high school years. They are both thankful for the good work Dr. Fahl has performed on them. One is about to finish college and the other is on his second re-enlistment in the US Army.

I recently had issues with my shoulders, without a doubt I knew who was going to take care of these issues. I'm back to normal thanks to Dr. Fahl and his great staff. Also the new building in Tomball is fantastic, so much better than the building down the street.

February 8, 2018

Scarlet R.

I love these people, the staff, PT staff, nurses, All the receptionist, most of all Dr. Leahy and Dr. John. Dr. Leahy & John did my lower back 2 years ago, they were excellent. No pain after the surgery. Recovery time was a piece of cake. Now, I’m back again with Dr. Leahy & John, another surgery, this time my neck. Yep, I’m nervous, however, I trust these two doctors with the procedure to be done. All the other doctors are great. I'm partial to Dr. Leahy & John and their staff. After this surgery, I’m having foot surgery, another great doctor I trust. Best doctors you’ll ever have working for you and healing you of any of your needs.

February 3, 2018

Gayle F.

I am about 4 hours from the Orthopaedic Center but it is worth it to get such good Doctors. Our son did research and found Dr Leahy to be one of the best in Texas. I was having such pain from Sciatica for three years and Doctor Leahy did an excellent job of putting me at ease. We scheduled Spinal Fusion and I am so much better. I had Hip Replacement and met Dr Mathis. His staff was very helpful and I just loved his assistant. Both of these Doctors were excellent surgeons and explained things on my level. My time is too precious to waste with pain. I recommend both of them highly.

January 22, 2018

Peter F.

I have never been treated so well from a doctors office, from the front desk to the surgery staff, the care and the time they took to make sure I understood everything was unlike anything else I have experienced. Even though the office is busy I NEVER felt rushed. Dr. Fahl was amazing, his bedside manner is easy going and he actually talks to you. My surgery went well w/o any issues and recovery is going well. Another plus, everything from x-rays, MRI's, surgery to rehab is under one building which makes the process so much easier.

January 4, 2018

Joyce S.

This was the first time meeting Dr. Kaku Barkoh, MD who treated my father for a compound fracture. It was a great experience. When we saw the doctor and all the other employees treat my father who suffers from Dementia so kindly. To be treated with such professionalism and care made a hard situation bearable. Keep up the good work guys!

January 3, 2018

Charles H.

Dr. Barkoh treated me for spinal decompression. I am 88 years old and of course I have a lot of trepidation concerning surgery. On my initial visit he discussed the methods available to treat my problem. He and his staff kept me informed about the procedure and its timing. All aspects of the problem was handled in a professional. and courteous manner . Dr. Barkoh is a very open man who answered all my questions openly and without reservation. I recommend him with high regards.

November 8, 2017

Peggy H.

I have had four surgeries in eleven months time. Started out with Dr. Leahy for my back. He is one great doctor and his staff is also. Dr. Smith done both hands for carpel tunnel. Let me tell you this is another great doctor. Now last was Dr. Mathis, another great doctor, who gave me a new hip. Talking about feeling like a new woman, I am. I would like to say a big thank you to all of your wonderful doctors. I don't want to leave out PT nurses, they are great too.

October 23, 2017

Mike R.

Dr. Leahy did fantastic on my back, he’s a great doctor and his staff and the people that work in the office are great too. From the time you walk in to the front office up to when you get the surgery, the process is fantastic. This was my first major surgery, and I was nervous, but everything just went great. I was on a cane for 6 weeks before the surgery, and after the surgery I can walk around just fine and all the pain is gone. I’m going back in November for a neck procedure, Dr. Leahy is so great.

Also, Dr. Smith has done surgery on my hand for a bad case of carpel tunnel that came out great, TOSM is full of good doctors & staff!

September 30, 2017

Jesse L.

As far as the Doctor goes and the surgery goes it was great. I was a little nervous at first, I had never heard of a replaced disk procedure for my neck, I was only familiar with neck fusion. When I met Dr. Leahy he assured me and made me feel confident with him and his team, and I went ahead with the procedure. The surgery went well, and the team worked well together.

It's been a couple months since the surgery and I have very little pain and my movement is much better and is getting better as time goes by. I was really happy with how quickly I recovered from this surgery, I've had other surgeries where recovery time was much longer, but with this surgery I was back to normal activities quickly— I was very impressed and happy with that.

Dr. Leahy kept me well informed on what to expect on the road to recovery- and everything he has said has been correct.

September 27, 2017

Tomball

13603 Michel Road

Tomball, TX 77375

The Woodlands

9319 Pinecroft Dr.

Suite 200

The Woodlands, TX 77380

p: 281-351-7261

f: 281-351-2515

p: 281-351-7261

f: 281-351-2515